Skip to main content

Illinois Information Technology Accessibility Act (IITAA)

The Illinois Information Technology Accessibility Act (IITAA) requires Illinois agencies and universities to ensure that their web sites, information systems, and information technologies are accessible to people with disabilities. While the Americans with Disabilities Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act already require the State to ensure its communications and services are accessible, the IITAA establishes specific technical standards and encourages the State to address accessibility proactively.

Illinois' accessibility standards are based on the United States' Section 508 Standards and refer to the World Wide Web Consortium's Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG).

Frequently Asked Questions

The IITAA applies to all State of Illinois govermental entities, including:

  • executive, legislative, and judicial branches
  • agencies, departments, divisions, etc.
  • constitutional offices
  • public universities

It does not directly apply to local governments, school districts, community colleges, or private organizations.

The IITAA covers all "information and communication technology," including:

  • websites, electronic documents & videos
  • software & applications
  • computers and peripherals
  • information kiosks
  • multifunction office machines
  • telecommunications equipment

  • The IITAA was signed on August 20, 2007, and the original IITAA 1.0 techincal standards went into effect on August 20, 2008.
  • The IITAA 2.0 Standards, which harmonized with Section 508 and WCAG 2.0, went into effect on January 18, 2018.
  • The IITAA 2.1 Standards, which reference WCAG 2.1, go into effect on June 24, 2024.

More Information

If you have questions or comments about information technology accessibility or the IITAA, please email